LibGuides: Engineering: Engineering

Key Database Resources

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Provides reference material covering all major scientific disciplines with links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.
Building Codes and Standards This link opens in a new window
This is part of MadCad and provides full text access to a selection of building codes and standards from ICC, ASTM, NFPA and more. When searching, select "Subscribed Books" to limit to full text access.
Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
Topics include: Accounting, finance and economics; Business; Engineering; Health and social care; Marketing.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a platform that enables in-depth search and discovery of current, archival, and interdisciplinary content in the applied engineering and physical science disciplines. Content includes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, dissertations, standards, books, preprints, patents, and technical reports from global publishers, including the engineering societies IEEE, ASME, SAE, and ACM.
F1000 Research This link opens in a new window
"An open access publishing platform supporting data deposition and sharing"
Google Scholar for Jeffersonians This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a growing database of scholarly literature in all fields. It is problematic to search, since Google does not give specifics about dates covered, bibliographic sources, or currency of material. However, it is an easy starting point that may satisfy entry-level search needs. While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 1,400 materials and processes. The online materials database contains the latest and most exciting materials originating from a large spectrum of industries typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. All the materials are juried into the database by a panel of material specialists and knowledgeable professionals.
ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Topics include: Agriculture, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Materials Science, Computing, Engineering
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters. Jefferson subscribes to some, but not all content.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Note: first-time users must create an account here.

CAS SciFinderⁿ is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinderⁿ includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, sequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink offers over 1,200 journals in full text. In addition to biomedical journals, subjects include mathematics, linguistics, material sciences, computer science, law and many other fields.

Engineering Ebooks

Library Catalog Everything Search
Don't want to pick a database? Use our catalog to search across TJU subscription databases for all source types (articles, books, ebooks, videos, reports, dissertations, and more) in any subject area.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window

Related TJU Research Guides

Textile Engineering

Tutorials - How to Use the Databases

ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window
Short videos are organized into ten Learning Modules that answer questions like "How do I choose a topic?" "Where do I find information?" and "How do I evaluate sources?"

Granta Materials Database (via CES EduPack)

From the publisher: "Granta CES EduPack includes the Materials and Processes Database - browsable information covering engineering materials (ceramics, metals and alloys, composites, polymers and elastomers....) and processes (shaping, joining, surface treatment). For each material or process, the database contains descriptive text, explanatory images, and technical, economic and eco properties." Also, you can review the world of materials and use the software to identify the best materials for your purpose.

For access, contact OIR Help Desk: x4648 or EFHelpdesk@jefferson.edu for assistance. Not compatible with Mac.

CES EduPack Demo Outline
Dr. Kander did several demos on the CES EduPack software. This PDF shows the outline of his presentation on how to navigate the EduPack database of materials.