LibGuides: Emergency and Disaster Medicine Management: Home

Library Search

Use the search box on the Gutman Library homepage to search for books, articles, videos and more!

Emergency and Disaster Medicine Management -- Databases/Resources

Google Scholar
Remote users: Use any link to Google Scholar from a library page. Once you log in and search, you will see links to Full-Text@Gutman Library to get you to freely available content. No set-up required!
more...less...
A multidisciplinary collection of scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of subject areas

CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers for finding articles, dissertations and more. The database also includes information about consumer health, patient education, and health sciences librarianship. It uses a special controlled vocabulary which overlaps in some areas with PubMed’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Complete text for some articles and testing instruments are available online.

PubMed
Look for Gutman Library icons linking to full text
more...less...
This expanded version of MEDLINE, is a medical journal database started in 1965 by the National Library of Medicine. It indexes over 2,000 journals; it does link to some full-text articles.
Cochrane
Best single source of reliable evidence about the effects of health care
more...less...
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - evidence based systematic reviews prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.

AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
An online medical resource that provides students and residents with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. It allows for practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care and ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical textbooks, including Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide, 8e, and many others.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of 50+ clinical and basic science textbooks, including classics such as Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine. Tabs across the top provide easy access portals to information on drugs, diagnostic tests, patient handouts, video & audio, guidelines, and quick answers. Also provides information on Self-Assessments, USMLE preparation tips, sample questions, and Diagnosaurus for differential diagnosis.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association produces PsycINFO for coverage of the international literature of psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.

Emergency and Disaster Medicine Management - Databases

Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
Topics include: Accounting, finance and economics; Business; Engineering; Health and social care; Marketing.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 550 journal titles in full text includes the following collections: Communication & Media Studies Collection, Criminology Collection, Politics & International Relations Collection, Sociology Collection, Education Collection, Psychology Collection, Nursing & Public Health Collection, Management & Organization Studies Collection, Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Urban Studies & Planning Collection.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink offers over 1,200 journals in full text. In addition to biomedical journals, subjects include mathematics, linguistics, material sciences, computer science, law and many other fields.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This database is part of the EBSCO system, and like ProQuest's Research Library database and its associated modules, Academic Search Premier is multi-disciplinary, and therefore a good place to get started with your research. There are links to the full text of many of the articles indexed.

Disaster Preparedness - Grey Literature
more...less...
New York Academy of Medicine database of grey literature- including non-conventional, fugitive, and ephemeral publications, such as: reports (technical, statistical, market research, government etc.), theses, and conference proceedings -- each with a link to full text.
FEMA Standards and Reports on disasters
more...less...
From MADCAD Building Codes database; divided by categories like: Flood/Wind, National Flood Insurance, Seismic, Wildfire, and Multi-Hazard.
Pan American Knowledge Center on Public Health and Disasters - Publications
more...less...
PAHO / WHO Disaster Program publications, video productions and online courses about risk reduction, preparation and disaster response. This section contains the complete collection of this material.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters. Jefferson subscribes to some, but not all content.

Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC) Web Resources

The below resources are meant to replace access to the Disaster Lit database.

(From National Library of Medicine, DIMRC Update page)

"As part of a broader NLM reorganization, the Disaster Information Management Resource Center (DIMRC) website was discontinued on June 21, 2021. Most of the NLM's disaster health information services remain available due to integration into other NLM products and services or are offered by external websites (nlm.nih.gov/dimrc/disasterinfo.html)."

Select Resources from Disaster Lit made available through:
- U.S. National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
- NCBI Resources: Bookshelf
- NLM Wiser
Resources formerly of Disaster Lit made available through agencies and organization outside of the National Library of Medicine (NLM):
- NIH Disaster Research Response (DR2) moved to the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
- Disaster Information Specialization moved to the Medical Library Association.
- CHEMM (moving to HHS Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) in summer 2021)
- REMM (moving to HHS ASPR in summer 2021)
Original Resources from DIMRC and Disaster Lit database:
- CDC Emergency Preparedness and Response website
- ASPR Public Health Emergency website
- ASPR Technical Resources, Assistance Center, and Information Exchange (TRACIE) website

News, History, Public Policy Information

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues for users with access to both resources.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream provides online access to the most respected national and regional newspapers from across the U.S. These titles offer researchers thorough coverage of local, national, and international events with journalistic balance and perspective.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals, books: humanities, social sciences, sciences
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
New York Times Historical Newspapers (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
Historical local, regional, national and international news
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni replaced LexisNexis Academic. It features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Project MUSE - Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is a collection of journals covering the fields of literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Environmental and Social/Psychological Resources

Disaster Mental Health Handbook
more...less...
Presents approved DMH interventions used to provide support both at your Red Cross chapter and on a disaster relief operation (DRO) that spans multiple affected chapters.
You will use DMH interventions to support individuals,families, neighborhoods, communities and Red Cross workers across the continuum of disaster preparedness, response and recovery

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
"GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology."
SocINDEX with Full Text: This link opens in a new window
Topics include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.

Emergency and Disaster Medicine Management

Librarian