Granta Materials Database (via CES EduPack)
From the publisher: "Granta CES EduPack includes the Materials and Processes Database - browsable information covering engineering materials (ceramics, metals and alloys, composites, polymers and elastomers....) and processes (shaping, joining, surface treatment). For each material or process, the database contains descriptive text, explanatory images, and technical, economic and eco properties." Also, you can review the world of materials and use the software to identify the best materials for your purpose.
For access, contact OIR Help Desk: x4648 or HelpDesk@philau.edu and ask them to download the software from CES EduPack to your computer. Please note that all public computers in Gutman Library have this program already installed. Not compatible with Mac.
Key Resources
Frequently Used Resources
If you cannot connect from off-campus, contact the Technology Help Desk- Colour Index
- Engineering Village
- Material Connexion
- ScienceDirect Journals
- SpringerLink Engineering
- Textile Technology Index
- Textile Technology Books (Woodhead)
- World Textiles
- Google ScholarOff-Campus Users: Go to "Settings" (in upper right); Select "Library Links" on left; Enter "Philadelphia University"; Checkmark the two PhilaU options; Hit "Save". This will add "Full Text @Gutman Library" to links on Google Scholar References.
Getting Starting. Exploring the Library's Book Collection
Books can be a starting point for understanding a subject being written about for a research assignment--books can provide a basis for understanding research articles (the concepts, the mathematics, etc.).
Book Collections + Descriptions
- Referex (Engineering Village) [Online Books]
- Textile Technology Books (Woodhead)
- Library CatalogThe Library Catalog provides access to the library's (mainly print) collection of engineering books; the library has books on a diverse range of engineering topics, including: architectural engineering, industrial engineering, mechanical engineering, and textile engineering. The catalog will also lists the materials placed on reserve by an instructor for a specific engineering course.
- CREDOReference Credo Reference is a perfect resource if one is looking for a definition of a term, a succinct summation of a topic, or even an explanation of a mathematical concept. With results from resources like The Dictionary of Engineering Terms and the Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, all in one database, you will know the answer to any question (well, maybe not any question, but pretty close)!
Getting Started. Exploring the Research
Engineering Databases
Engineering databases can retrieve journal articles that delve more deeply into an engineering area. The library subscribes to some databases that are broad in their coverage, others that are quite specific.
Databases + Descriptions
- Engineering Village Provides online information, knowledge, and support of the highest professional relevance for research and industrial practitioners in applied physical sciences and engineering.
- Material Connexion Material ConneXion is a collection of over 1,400 materials and processes. The online materials database contains the latest and most exciting materials originating from a large spectrum of industries. All the materials are juried into the database by a panel of material specialists and knowledgeable professionals.
- SpringerLink Engineering The Springer Link Engineering Collection contains full-text articles and article abstracts encompassing a wide-range of engineering fields, including: biomedical engineering; industrial and production engineering; mechanical engineering; and power engineering.
- Colour Index Colour Index is an online version of the definitive guide for anyone who needs to know details of which companies manufacture and distribute dyes and pigments, or for anyone looking for technical details of these products.Colorants are listed according to the widely acclaimed system of Colour Index Generic Names and Colour Index Constitution Numbers.
- Textile Technology Index Focuses on the technical and engineering aspects of the textile trade and includes books, dissertations and patents. Only abstracts of articles --no full text. Coverage includes the various aspects of textile production and processing, and the automation and management systems of these operations. Coverage also includes many of the major resources of the apparel, home furnishings, flooring, and polymer industries.
- ScienceDirect Journals The ScienceDirect Engineering Collection contains full-text articles and abstracts for articles in a wide array of engineering disciplines, including: Chemical engineering; Earth sciences; Energy sngineering; and Materials Science.
- World Textiles
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Help
Library Research Help
- Get Articles and Books Not in Gutman Library Collections (Interlibrary Loan)
- Connecting to Library Resources from Off-campus
- Technology Help (Office of Information Resources)
- Writing Assistance (Learning and Advising Center)
- Bibliography Creation Assistance with RefWorks Software
- Library Hours
- Contact the Library



Loading...
