LibGuides: Trauma Counseling: Home

DSM-5

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders

Full text search

Digital Educational Videos

ACADEMIC VIDEO ONLINE: includes over 22,000 educational videos on number of different subjects. Under the subject heading of "Psychology" over 370 titles are listed, this group includes over 50 titles specific to "Counseling".

FILMS ON DEMAND: a database of educational videos which includes over 1750 Psychology titles. Under the subject heading of "Applied - Counseling & Therapy" over 15 films are available.

Recommended databases

List of databases which include psychological research which may be useful.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Find full-text journal articles in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association produces PsycINFO for coverage of the international literature of psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive psychiatric resource features the DSM-V and DSM Library, American Psychiatric Association (APA) practice guidelines, textbooks, self-assessment tools, clinical & research news, and medication information handouts for patients.
CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers for finding articles, dissertations and more. The database also includes information about consumer health, patient education, and health sciences librarianship. It uses a special controlled vocabulary which overlaps in some areas with PubMed’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Complete text for some articles and testing instruments are available online.
SocINDEX with Full Text: This link opens in a new window Topics include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (.gov) This link opens in a new window Free version of ERIC provided by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. Bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window This database is part of the EBSCO system, and like ProQuest's Research Library database and its associated modules, Academic Search Premier is multi-disciplinary, and therefore a good place to get started with your research. There are links to the full text of many of the articles indexed.

PubMed Expanded version of MEDLINE from the National Library of Medicine, indexing over 2,000 journals and linking to a many full text articles.
Google Scholar
Remote users: Use any link to Google Scholar from a library page. Once you search, you will see Full-Text@Gutman Library links to get you to freely available content. No set-up required!
more...less...
A multidisciplinary collection of scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of subject areas. It can be a good starting place for researching a paper, but it is not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases, including Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, which is commonly referred to as "Trials" or "CENTRAL", Cochrane Systematic Reviews and Protocols, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 550 journal titles in full text includes the following collections: Communication & Media Studies Collection, Criminology Collection, Politics & International Relations Collection, Sociology Collection, Education Collection, Psychology Collection, Nursing & Public Health Collection, Management & Organization Studies Collection, Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Urban Studies & Planning Collection.

CTC Library Orientation 2021

CTC Gutman Library orientation
Video orientation to CTC library resources