Plant Pronounciation Help
- UConn Plant Database of Trees, Shrubs and Vinesfrom Mark H. Brand, University of Connecticut
ECBIO 208 - Local Flora
Welcome to the Research Guide for ECBIO208.
This guide will build on your previously-acquired information location and access skills, and lists many places you can find information for this course.
For additional information, please also see the Environmental and Conservation Biology Research Guide.
Some of the resources are free on the public web, and some are not free, and are accessed via our subscription databases.
Plant Identification: Free Websites
- USDA Plants DatabaseThe Plants Database has much information. Explore the links on this site.
- Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants: Plant Type CategoryUniversity of Florida, IFAS
- Wildflower Identification
- The Pennsylvania Flora ProjectFrom the Morris Arboretum
- Common Trees of PennsylvaniaPA Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR)
- Northeast Wetland FloraFrom the USGS. Link to "Key to the Groups in This Guide" might be most helpful to start.
- Oregon State University Deptartment of HorticultureLandscape Plants: Images, Identification and Information
- VTree IDDendrology at Virginia Tech site
- Rogers Trees and Shrubs
- What Tree is That?Arbor Day Foundation
Additional Plant Information: Free Websites
- JSTOR Plant Science Will be available free through June, 2013
- Cornell University Urban Horticulture Institute"The Institute's mission is to improve quality of life by enhancing the functions of plants within urban ecosystems."
Online Resources (Subscription)
Finding Full Text
If you have a citation and would like to find the Full Text of an article, you must look in the following locations:
JournalList is an alphabetical listing of full-text journals found in most of Gutman Library's electronic databases and e-journal collections.
PhilaFIND is the library catalog where you should look for print copies of journals.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is where you should go if you cannot find the full text in JournalList or in PhilaFind. The ILL Guide has instructions for how to request articles or books from other libraries: click the Help tab to see video tutorials.
Books on Reserve
Tutorials for Resources
- Advanced Searching in EBSCO DatabasesEBSCO system databases include Garden Literature Index, Environment Complete, and Academic Search Premier
- Tutorials Research GuidePlease see the Tutorials Research Guide for additional information about other online resources not included here
Brynne Norton
Links: Profile & Guides |
Leafsnap App
If you have an iPhone or iPad, try Leafsnap. Download the Leafsnap app to identify plants by using photographs of their leaves.
Organizations and Places
- American Horticultural Society
- American Society of Landscape Architects
- Greater Philadelphia GardensList of notable gardens and arboretums in the area
- Pennsylvania Horticulture Society
- Northeast Tree Tenders"Restoring Northeast Philadelphia's Tree Canopy"
- TreeVitalize"A partnership to restore tree cover in PA communities"
Books
Helpful books are located in the Reference collection, and may also be on Reserve for this class. Check the catalog and browse in the call number areas of the Circulating collection, as represented by the titles below.
Use Interlibrary Loan Services to borrow books from other libraries as well.


Loading...
