Last Updated: Sep 16, 2013
Check out our new image resources with over 1 million digital images!
- Access Science
Up-to-date, easy-to-use gateway to scientific knowledge, from basic introductory material to extended article entries in key scientific areas
This reference sources contains 11 electronic versions of dictionaries and encyclopedias about art, architecture, and design.
- Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art)
This is a good place to start with encyclopedia type entries on artists, their works, styles and periods.
To browse books about design, a good place to start is in the 700s.
Since it is such a broad subject area, try searching our catalog for industrial design as a subject:
PhilaU WorldCat: Search Books, Articles, and More from PhilaU and the World
Information about Industrial Design can be found in a lot of different places. I have listed some key resources. For a list of all resources available check out our Databases A-Z list.
- Academic Search Premier
This broad ranging database contains a lot of full text and is a good place to look for any interdisciplinary topics.
- Access Science
Covers basic to detailed information on all areas of science, based on McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- Access World News
Search state, national and international full-text articles including print and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos.
- Art Index
This is an index and does not have full text. It covers a wide variety of architecture, art, and design journals dating back to 1984.
- Business Source Premier
The largest database of fulltext articles from business publications ranging from scholarly to trade publications, across all business disciplines
- Design and Applied Arts Index
This is an index and does not have full text. Articles here are about design or design-related discipline from a wide variety of sources.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar pulls together a wide variety of resources from all different disciplines.
Some fulltext, pulled from Academic Search Premier; articles related to sustainability drawn from trade, scholarly, general, and government publications
This provides archival fulltext (back issues) for several journals.
- Material ConneXion
This database contains information about various materials that can be used. It is constantly updated by a panel of scholars.
- ProQuest Research Library
This database contains some full text. It also has several modules including Humanities, General Interest, and Social Sciences among others.
- SAGE Journals Online
This is a collection of e-journals covering a wide variety of topics.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Partial fulltext, from sources in sociology and other allied fields
This provides partial fulltext access to thousands of journals across several disciplines, including design, interactive media, computing and technology-related sources.
If you have a citation and would like to find the Full Text of an article, you must look in the following locations:
JournalList is an alphabetical listing of
full-text journals found in most of Gutman Library's electronic
PhilaFIND is the library catalog where you should look for print copies of journals.
Interlibrary Loan is where you should go if you cannot find the full text in JournalList or in PhilaFind. Directions are on this page for how to request articles or books from other libraries.