A guide to resources for students in the undergraduate and graduate program in Interactive Design and Media
Last Updated: Sep 16, 2013
Check out our new image resources with over 1 million digital images!
This field is collaborative, and we have all had the experience of someone
saying, have you seen this talk, this site, this book?
We would love to
have your recommendations---use the submit a link button below to
suggest a resource.
These resources will enable you to explore new ideas, new technologies, help you find the best solution to your develpment problems, and expose you to research in the field.
- Design and Applied Arts Index
This is an index and does not have full text. Articles here are about design or design-related discipline from a wide variety of sources.
- Art Index
This is an index and does not have full text. It covers a wide variety of architecture, art, and design journals dating back to 1984.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar pulls together a wide variety of resources from all different disciplines.
- Academic Search Premier
This broad ranging database contains a lot of full text and is a good place to look for any interdisciplinary topics.
Some full text, pulled from Academic Search Premier; articles related to sustainability drawn from trade, scholarly, general, and government publications
- Business Source Premier
The largest database of fulltext articles from business publications ranging from scholarly to trade publications, across all business disciplines
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Partial fulltext, from sources in sociology and other allied fields
- ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest is a multidisciplinary system of databases, covering Business, Psychology, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and more.
This provides archival fulltext (back issues) for several journals.
- SAGE Journals Online
This is a collection of e-journals covering a wide variety of topics.
This provides partial fulltext access to thousands of journals across several disciplines, including design, interactive media, computing and technology-related sources.
- Communications of the ACM
research articles on human-computer interaction, emerging technologies, web standards, and computer science topics that underpin many digital design projects.
- Media Culture & Society
research articles on the social aspects of digital and Internet technologies (part of the Sage journals online collection). Covers the sociology of the media in general. Example themes are: online social networks; the nature of relationships online; video games and gaming in culture and society; and the experience of social groups (for instance, women) on the Web.
- Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media
research articles with a broad media focus, encompassing the Web, television, and film. Example article titles: Islam in cyberspace : South Asian Muslims in America Log in; and: Examination of media channels and types as health information sources for adolescents.
- Internet Business News
a monthly publication providing key insights into the commercial activities and benefits available through the Internet. Useful for researching new media markets, media companies (like Apple), and products.
- LexisNexis Academic
useful for finding news on digital and interactive media companies and products.
- Plunkett Research Overview of the Media Industry
economic trends in the entertainment and media industry; provides earnings and profiles of media companies.
- Pew Research Center's Internet and American Life Project
features reports exploring the impact of the Internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care and civic and political life.
- International Journal of Design
Electronic, open access. 2007 - present
If you have a citation and would like to find the Full Text of an article, you must look in the following locations:
JournalList is an alphabetical listing of
full-text journals found in most of Gutman Library's electronic
PhilaFIND is the library catalog where you should look for print copies of journals.
Interlibrary Loan is where you should go if you cannot find the full text in JournalList or in PhilaFind. Directions are on this page for how to request articles or books from other libraries.