Last Updated: Sep 16, 2013
Click to get help finding plans and drawings:
- Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art)
This is a good place to start with encyclopedia type entries on artists, their works, styles and periods.
This reference sources contains 11 electronic versions of dictionaries and encyclopedias about art, architecture, and design.
This has a wide array of full text across many disciplines.
- Project MUSE - Social Sciences Collection
Project Muse is a collection of journals covering the fields of literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
If you would like to browse, most Interior Design books are located in the 700s. Here are some call number ranges to get you started:
729 Design & decoration
745 Decorative arts
746 Textile arts
747 Interior decoration
749 Furniture & accessories
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
This is an index and does not have full text. It covers architecture journals from 1930 to the present.
- Art Index
This is an index and does not have full text. It covers a wide variety of architecture, art, and design journals dating back to 1984.
- Design and Applied Arts Index
This is an index and does not have full text. Articles here are about design or design-related discipline from a wide variety of sources.
- ProQuest Research Library
This database contains some full text. It also has several modules including Humanities, General Interest, and Social Sciences among others.
- Business Source Premier
This database contains full text and is a good resource for information on the business side of Interior Design.
- Academic Search Premier
This broad ranging database contains a lot of full text and is a good place to look for any interdisciplinary topics.
- Material ConneXion
Material ConneXion is a collection of over 1,400 materials and processes.
- Building Codes and Standards
A database of over one million digital images.
PhilaU WorldCat: Search Books, Articles, and More from PhilaU and the World
If you have a citation and would like to find the Full Text of an article, you must look in the following locations:
JournalList is an alphabetical listing of
full-text journals found in most of Gutman Library's electronic
PhilaFIND is the library catalog where you should look for print copies of journals.
Interlibrary Loan is where you should go if you cannot find the full text in JournalList or in PhilaFind. Directions are on this page for how to request articles or books from other libraries.