LibGuides: Midwifery: Starting Your Research

Topic Ideas and Background Information

For topic ideas and background information, try these book collections and reference resources:

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
AccessObGyn This link opens in a new window
Obstetrics and gynecology reference and research
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of 50+ clinical and basic science textbooks, including classics such as Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine.
R2 Library This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of textbooks in medicine, nursing and allied health disciplines.
LWW Health Library – Medical Education This link opens in a new window
A collection of trusted Lippincott content including key textbooks, atlases, videos and self-assessments.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed delivers evidence-based content for practicing clinicians.

Primary Sources

For primary research articles and secondary sources with high-quality evidence, try these literature databases:

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's own interface for MEDLINE and also includes PREMEDLINE (new citations which don't have their subject headings yet) and OLDMEDLINE (reaching back to the 1950s). Use it to identify journal articles on your biomedical topic.
CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers for finding articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Scott Memorial Library's broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 19,000 journals across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, science-related Web sites, conference papers, and world patent literature.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Each Cochrane Review is a peer-reviewed systematic review that has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group (editorial team) in The Cochrane Collaboration according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews.
Ovid MEDLINE ALL This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international journal literature of biomedicine. While the main thrust of MEDLINE is clinical information, some administrative and sociological literature is included.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association produces PsycINFO for coverage of the international literature of psychology and related disciplines.
SocINDEX with Full Text: This link opens in a new window
Topics include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
Trip (free version) This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine that classifies results by evidence type: systematic reviews, guidelines, controlled trials, patient education, etc. SML does not subscribe to the Pro version. Select "Try out the new site!" link at the top of the page which is currently in Beta.
Google Scholar for Jeffersonians This link opens in a new window
While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.

Library Databases: A-Z List
For more, see our full list of available databases.

Finding Full Text Articles

When we do not have a subscription for a journal that you need, we can still get you a copy. Just submit a request through our Interlibrary Loan system. Check out our guide to Finding Full Text for more information about how to access full text articles through the library and how to request through Interlibrary Loan when we do not have what you need.

Guide to Finding Full Text through Scott Memorial Library

Midwifery

Get Help

Librarian

Topic Ideas and Background Information

Primary Sources

Finding Full Text Articles