Overview

Welcome to the resource pages for The Complete Persepolis!
These pages contain links to information to deepen your understanding of the book.
Under each tab are links to sites and information available on the free, public web.
Pictured throughout are books available at Gutman Library, but they may also be at your local public library.
Using your Philadelphia University network userid and password, you can log on to the online resources listed in the boxes designated "Online Databases from Gutman Library."
If you have questions about library resources or services, please call the Reference Desk at 215-951-2848, email: reference@philau.edu, or contact a library staff member
If you have any questions about connecting to the online resources listed in this guide, please call the Help Desk at 215-951-4648 or email them at HelpDesk@PhilaU.edu
Reference & Background Information
Subject or discipline-specific encyclopedias and dictionaries are a basic reference tool for college-level research.
- Timeline: Iran from the BBCOverview of key events
- Library of Congress Country Profile: IranThe Library of Congress, in Washington D.C., has several links to country information at
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/profiles.html - US Department of State: IranThese Background Notes from the Department of State can also help. They are an example of free information from a US government website.
- Encyclopædia Iranica: Online Encyclopedia of IranUse this online version of the subject-specific encyclopedia Iranica
- How To Use IranicaThis page explains various search capabilities of Encyclopaedia Iranica. Search names, dates, concepts, etc to provide yourself with historical background
Gutman Library
- Paul J.Gutman LibraryThis is the homepage of Gutman Library. Take a look and see what we have for you!
- Information for New StudentsHere is some additional information about Gutman Library
- Connecting from Off-CampusFollow these instructions for connecting to our online resources from home
Online Databases from Gutman Library
These online resources are available for you to explore. Some of them might look familiar to you from your high school or public library. There are many more available via Gutman Library, to support you in your studies. You can connect to them from the menu on the Gutman Library homepage entitled "Article Search: Select a Database from A-Z List."
Follow the instructions above for Connecting from Off Campus, in order to access these resources from home.
- Connecting from Off-CampusFollow these instructions for connecting to our online resources from home
- CountryWatchComprehensive information about various countries. Select your country from the drop menu on the CountryWatch homepage
- Facts on File World News DigestWorld News Digest is one part of the Facts on File suite of databases. It is a reference tool, with background information and information about important current events. Keyword Search "Iran" to see recent events of note
- ProQuest Research LibrarySearch across all ProQuest databases, including magazines, journals and newspapers
- Access World News A database of fulltext newspapers from the US and the world. In the left frame, check out the Hot Topics and Special Reports
- Academic Search Premier A database from EBSCO, covering a variety of topics
- SocIndex with FulltextA specialized database from EBSCO, focusing on sociology and social sciences
- Columbia International Affairs Online Journals (CIAO) CIAO is a collection of policy briefs, white papers, and journal articles relating to international affairs
- Project MUSE - Social Sciences Collection E-journal collection pertaining to the social sciences and humanities

Loading...
