This is a guide to resources for Sustainable Design.
Last Updated: Jul 11, 2013
Click to get help finding plans and drawings:
- Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art)
This is a good place to start with encyclopedia type entries on artists, their works, styles and periods.
This reference sources contains 11 electronic versions of dictionaries and encyclopedias about art, architecture, and design.
- American Chemical Society Web Editions
this is a full text collection of ACS journals going back as far as the 1800s.
- ScienceDirect Journals
This collection has full text access over 800 publications along with indexing and abstracts for several hundred more.
This has a wide array of full text across many disciplines.
- Emerald Journals
provides access to just the Journals portion. Journals cover many business topics, including management, the built environment, and more. Limit to browse Journals & Books, Just Journals and Just my Subscriptions to see both an alphabetical list of titles and (in the right frame) subject groupings of the journals to which we have fulltext access
Books about Sustainable Design can be found all over the library.
Try doing a subject search or subject browse for Sustainability or Sustainable.
For looking beyond what our catalog holds, try OpenWorldCat.
- Academic Search Premier
This broad ranging database contains a lot of full text and is a good place to look for any interdisciplinary topics. This database has a module for SocIndex and Business Source Premier as well.
Included are articles about sustainability drawn from trade, scholarly, general, and government publications.
Agricola searches the catalog for the National Agricultural Library. If you find a book or article through here, search for it in our catalog or thought JournalList.
- Art Index
This is an index and does not have full text. It covers a wide variety of architecture, art, and design journals dating back to 1984.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
This is an index and does not have full text. It covers architecture journals from 1930 to the present.
- Design and Applied Arts Index
This is an index and does not have full text. Articles here are about design or design-related discipline from a wide variety of sources.
- Engineering Village
Engineering Village is a good resource for any articles or information needed about engineering.
- Environment Complete
This includes a lot of full text information concerning environmental technology and law, urban planning, pollution, and waste management and more.
- ProQuest Research Library
This database contains some full text. It also has several modules including Humanities, General Interest, and Social Sciences among others.
This site is a suite of information for sustainable building professionals. There are links to information about new building materials, products, laws, regulations and case studies.
- Material ConneXion
This database contains information about various materials that can be used. It is constantly updated by a panel of scholars.
- Building Codes and Standards
Provides fulltext access to a selection of building codes and standards from ICC, ASTM, NFPA and more. When searching, select “Subscribed Books” to limit to fulltext access.
If you have a citation and would like to find the Full Text of an article, you must look in the following locations:
JournalList is an alphabetical listing of
full-text journals found in most of Gutman Library's electronic
PhilaFIND is the library catalog where you should look for print copies of journals.
Interlibrary Loan is where you should go if you cannot find the full text in JournalList or in PhilaFind. Directions are on this page for how to request articles or books from other libraries.