This is the "Explore/Get Started" page of the "Textile Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
university calendar university directory library home

Textile Design   Tags: all_guides  

Last Updated: Feb 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.philau.edu/textiledesign Print Guide RSS Updates

Explore/Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Information

 

Research Tutorial

 Research Tutorial

Empower is a good general tutorial on conducting research--it is especially helpful for students new to research, or students new to the university.

Where to Start

 Starting Your Research

As an inspiration to creative design development,  the library maintains a number of electronic sources which access images of current fabrics and trends. Also available are a number of magazine subcriptions, both foreign and domestic, which have been selected for their illustrative content. Of course, the circulating book collection with its emphasis on unique source material should also be reviewed for appropriate images.

In searching the book collection, consider using the following terms with subject browse:

Design

Design - history - 20th Century

Textile Design

Textile Design - Themes, motives

Textile Fabrics


Book Collection Search

     
      
     

    Selective Sample of the Design Books Available in the Library

    Cover Art
    Meller, Susan & Joost Elffers - Textile Designs
    Call Number: R746.6 M525t
    Two hundred years of European and American patterns for printed fabrics organized by motif, style, color, layout, and period.
    Abrams, 1991
    Reserve Book.

    Cover Art
    Skinner, Tina - Abstract Textile Designs
    Call Number: 677.02864 S628a
    Color illustrations from a wide range of fabric collections from Europe and the United States.
    Schiffer, 1998

    Cover Art
    Skinner, Tina - Art Deco Textile Designs
    Call Number: 746.041 S628a
    Illustrations of historic fabric samples from the mid-1920s and the 30s in full color.
    Schiffer, 1998

    Cover Art
    Trestain, Eileen Jahnke - DATING FABRICS
    Call Number: R746.460973 T799d
    Utilizes various examples of fabric designs from 1800 to 1960 arranged by color.
    American Quilter's Society, 1998.
    Shelved in the Reference Section.

    Cover Art
    World Textile Collections : 6 - Abstract Pattern
    Call Number: 746.041 A146p
    Designed as a source book for graphic, commercial, and industrial designers.
    Kyoto Shoin, 1992

    About the Library

    Library Hours
    Staff+Dept. Directory
    FAQs + Access Policies
    Information for New Students

    Library Services

    Circulation
    Interlibrary Loan
    Services for Alumni
    Special Collections
    Computers+Study Spaces

    University Links

    Blackboard
    Learning and Advising Center
    Technology Assistance (Office of Information Resources)

    HAVE A QUESTION OR NEED ASSISTANCE?

    Email. reference@philau.edu

    Phone. 215.951.2840


    Created and Maintained by

    Paul J. Gutman Library, Philadelphia University. School House Lane and Henry Ave. Philadelphia, Pa. 19144.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip