Tutorials for Online Resources and Online Searching
Please click the tabs above to see additional tutorials for subject-specific resources.
This Tutorials Homepage contains links to vendor tutorials for several of our multidisciplinary online resources, including
- Lexis Nexis and
Instructions for our streaming video collections
- Films on Demand (See Quick Start Guide links for Home Page, Finding Videos, etc.)
Overviews of the Online Catalog and finding books in WorldCAT Local are also linked here.
Refworks is a tool to help you organize and and keep track of the information you locate from our resources.
Tutorials for the Online Catalog
Tutorials to help you use the online catalog
EBSCO Databases
For more help with any of these resources, please contact your Liaison Librarian or Jordana Shane.
EBSCO databases include: Academic Search Premier,
Business Source Premier, Regional Business News, America: History &
Life, Historical Abstracts, Textile Technology Index, World Textile
Abstracts, Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index, SocIndex,
Environment Complete, GreenFile.
- Advanced Searching in EBSCO Databases
- Results List: Working with Your Search ResultsDetailed help on how to navigate and refine your search results. Please note: the volume on this tutorial is low
- Reading an ArticleOptions available to you when viewing an individual article from your results list
- My EBSCOhost FolderSet up a free folder to Save and organize your EBSCO database research, save searches and set up search alerts and new Table of Content Alerts, for new issues of your favorite publications in EBSCO
- Using Your Search HistoryUse your My EBSCOhost folder to help you re-use your Search History
- EBSCOhost YouTube Channel
E-Books on EBSCO: NetLibrary e-Books are now part of EBSCO!
For more help with any of these resources, please contact your Liaison Librarian
or Jordana Shane.
- E-Books on EBSCOhost tutorialHow to search for and view EBSCO e-books. PLEASE NOTE: we do NOT have the capability to download e-books, as described in the tutorial
- E-Books on EBSCOhost User Guide (WORD document)
ProQuest Databases

For more help with any of these resources, please contact your Liaison Librarian or Jordana Shane.
ProQuest databases include special coverage of Business, Psychology, Health Sciences, Newspapers, and general coverage of Humanities and Social Sciences, for College Studies and Liberal Arts courses.
Databases include the ProQuest Research Library, ProQuest Newspapers, Historical New York Times, ABI/Inform Global, Trade & Industy and Dateline databases, Health & Medical Complete, and more
- ProQuest Basic Search
- ProQuest Advanced SearchA sample Advanced Search using the ABI/INFORM database
- ProQuest: Publication SearchSearch for publication titles in ProQuest
- ProQuest: Email PDFs
- ProQuest: "My Research" Instructions PageFrom ProQuest's own Research Guides, this page shows you how to register for a "My Research" account within ProQuest. Create a personal My Research account within ProQuest, so you can manage your search results by creating folders, link to your RefWorks account, and more.
- Proquest: Create FoldersFirst--Create a My Research account in ProQuest. Then, create folders to organize the items you find.
- ProQuest: Look Up a CitationLook up citations in ProQuest using the information you have.
- ProQuest: When Direct Export FailsAdded May 10 2012: there is sometimes a problem related to the proxy server that can interfere with directly exporting to RefWorks as described above. This tutorial provides instructions on how to use an alternative export format (RIS).
- ProQuest: Create a Search AlertBe sure to create a My Research Account in PQ before creating any alerts! This tutorial shows you how to set up a Search Alert that is sent to your Email account
- ProQuest: Manage Your AlertsCreate a My Research Account in PQ before creating alerts, so that you can manage them more easily.
- ProQuest: TagsFirst--Create a My Research account. Then, you can tag items you have saved in your My Research account, and find them more easily later!
- ProQuest: Quick Start Guide pdf
- ProQuest: Full User Guide pdfThis is a longer version of the Quick Start Guide.
NewsBank (Access World News)
For more help with any of these resources, please contact your
Liaison Librarian or Jordana Shane.
- NewsBank TutorialOnce the file downloads, view it in Presentation mode. It will run automatically. Please note: there is no sound.
Lexis / Nexis
For more help with any of these resources, please contact your 
Liaison Librarian or Jordana Shane
- Lexis Nexis Tutorials: Main MenuChoose from all four Lexis/Nexis Tutorials: Overview, Selecting Sources, Working With Results, Caselaw Summaries and Headnotes, or use the links below.
- Overview: Lexis Nexis Tutorial
- Selecting Sources: Lexis Nexis Tutorial
- Working With Results: Lexis Nexis Tutorial
- Caselaw Summaries and Headnotes
RefWorks
For more help with RefWorks, please contact Stan Gorski or Karen Albert
- Refworks Research Guide
- Refworks 2.0 Fundamentals Tutorial
- RefWorks YouTube ChannelI. Learn to Use RefWorks in 20 Minutes II. RefWorks Fundamentals III. RefWorks Advanced IV. RefShare V.RefWorks Output Style Editor
- Write-N-Cite 4: Installing and Logging In
- Write-N-Cite 4: The Basics: inserting Citations and Creating Bibliographies
- Adding References to RefWorks from Web pages Using RefGrab-It
WorldCAT Local
PhilaU WorldCAT Local searches Books, Articles and more. The tutorials below demonstrate searching for BOOKS only.
- Search WorldCAT LocalThis group of tutorials shows a Basic Search, how to refine your search by limiting your results by author, book (format), and more.
- Advanced Searching in WorldCAT LocalThis set of tutorials shows the various features of Advanced Searches
Credo Reference
These videos will help you use Credo Reference, a collection of reference books such as subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias, =foreign language dictionaries, and more.
- Using Topic Pages to Get Started
- Keyword Searching in Credo
- Advanced Searching in Credo
- Using the Credo Concept MapA visual search
- Using Find a BookFind a specific Reference Book in Credo
Karen Albert
Contact Info Paul J. Gutman Library Philadelphia University School House Lane & Henry Ave. Philadelphia, PA 19144 Phone: 215-951-2847 Send Email Subjects: Science and Health |
Stan Gorski
Links: Profile & Guides |
Barbara Lowry
Links: Profile & Guides |
Brynne Norton
Links: Profile & Guides |
Jordana Shane
Links: Profile & Guides |
Academic Video Online (AVO)
- Academic Video Online YouTube TutorialBasic information regarding how to search AVO
- Academic Video Online Help PageThis page provides directions about how to browse or search AVO, how to create playlists, and how to create your own sets of clips from different videos.







Loading...
