LibGuides: Materials Library at Gutman Library: Home

Materials Library

Welcome to the Materials Library at Gutman Library. The Materials Library offers a diverse range of materials used in the maker-oriented disciplines at Jefferson-East Falls. You can browse the physical collection housed on the main floor of the library or use Artstor to browse the collection online or search for items with specific properties. Materials are grouped on the shelves in the following categories: Ceramic, Hybrids and Composites, Glass, Metals and Alloys, Wood and Other Natural Materials, Polymers, Elastomers, Assemblies, and Fabric.

Search for Materials

Search our online database of materials on Artstor. To access the Materials Library on Artstor, follow the link below and select "Materials Library" under "Institutional Collections." Browse the digital collection in its entirety or search within the collection for specific materials, categories of materials, or materials with specific properties.

Artstor This link opens in a new window 300 collections composed of over 2 million images. These curated images have been rights-cleared for use in education and research — you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.

Resources

Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window Collection of over 1,400 materials and processes. The online materials database contains the latest and most exciting materials originating from a large spectrum of industries typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. All the materials are juried into the database by a panel of material specialists and knowledgeable professionals.
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.

Declare - International Living Future Institute
Declare is a ‘nutrition-label’ for products, providing a clear, elegant and informative method to disclose ingredients. Declare is transforming the building materials marketplace through transparency and open communication.
Inventables
Precautionary Lists - Transparency
The Precautionary List includes substances commonly found in the built environment that have been classified by regulatory entities as being harmful to the health of humans and/or the environment.
Sweets
Transmaterial: A catalog of materials that redefine our physical environment
University of Texas- Austin Materials Lab

Granta Materials Database (via CES EduPack)

From the publisher: "Granta CES EduPack includes the Materials and Processes Database - browsable information covering engineering materials (ceramics, metals and alloys, composites, polymers and elastomers....) and processes (shaping, joining, surface treatment). For each material or process, the database contains descriptive text, explanatory images, and technical, economic and eco properties." Also, you can review the world of materials and use the software to identify the best materials for your purpose.

For access, contact OIR Help Desk: x4648 or EFHelpdesk@jefferson.edu for assistance. Not compatible with Mac.

CES EduPack Demo Outline
Dr. Kander did several demos on the CES EduPack software. This PDF shows the outline of his presentation on how to navigate the EduPack database of materials.